This Is The Barn

This is “Rosedon”, the 1915 farmhouse we’ve been bringing back to life since 2006.  We did give the house a proper name, of course, but most days it’s just The Barn:

20140122_104255

Rosedon – January 2014 – a rare snowfall

View of the side porches:

20140122_104449

The house, originally named “Dogwood”, sits on 28 acres in the countryside of central Virginia. It has suffered its indignities over the years. Built by a family of some standing in my county, it was the less grand of their several historic homes and eventually fell out of family ownership. During The Depression, the interior was broken up into two separate dwelling spaces sharing a kitchen. And in the 1980’s various additional horrors were inflicted including dropped ceilings and paneling.

Slowly we have been working to bring it back to life.  And it has been an effort full of everything you would expect ranging from “What the heck were we thinking?” to “I never want to leave this place.”

I don’t want this blog to be a blow-by-blow documentation of renovations. Not at all. Here and there, I’ll record a project. More, I just want a place to talk about our life in the country; how we’ve changed The Barn and how it has changed us: two transplanted New Englanders enjoying life in The South.

About Silver in the Barn

Life in a 1915 farmhouse in Central Virginia. Blogging about whatever happens to catch my fancy - sometimes nonsense, occasionally not.
This entry was posted in The Barn and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to This Is The Barn

  1. Diane Ahlberg says:

    Amazing how much you two have already done to this beautiful neglected home- glad you saw through the decay and missteps and saw what it could be!

    Like

  2. cathylass says:

    Oh wow – what a beautful, beautiful house… I think I’m a little bit in love. 🙂

    Like

  3. nrhatch says:

    It is gorgeous . . . and that’s no BOLOGNA. Or Baloney. 😛

    Like

  4. Barbara, your home is TDF! And 28 acres as well. Wow!

    Like

  5. What a gorgeous house! I’m so jealous — being able to live in a historic house is a dream. I, for one, would love to read a blow-by-blow account of your renovations.

    Like

    • Ha! That can’t happen because I’ve expunged them from my memory banks. The pain was too intense! So funny, actually, when I first started writing this blog I thought I would enjoy writing about these things but found that it wasn’t fun. I’m much more of a loosey-goosey blogger than I ever imagined I would be. Speaking of houses….and history….and slavery….we were, weren’t we?….pop over to this post when you have time. You might enjoy it. https://silverinthebarn.wordpress.com/2014/11/17/slavery/

      Like

I welcome your comments:

