Cookbook Time Capsule

Here are my oldest and newest cookbooks. I don’t really have to tell you which is which, I’ll bet.

20140128_100930

And in between the oldest and newest are dozens of other cookbooks collected over the years; some really good, others barely cracked:

20140128_105310

My mother gave me that little red cookbook when I was newly married way back in the seventies.  Mom was a German girl who married my GI dad in the fifties and moved with him to Marshall, Minnesota.  This book and cooking with my Grandma were her introductions to American cooking. My mother remembers being amazed at how much food we had in the grocery stores compared to what was available in Germany at the time.  But she missed all the good cheeses, sausages, and breads that were familiar to her.

The book looks pretty battered, doesn’t it? And it is, to be sure, after 60-plus years but some of the damage to the cover was courtesy of my brother Mike’s hungry guinea pig. That little varmint ate anything in its path, I remember.

20140128_160011

Let’s take a peek inside, shall we?  In 1953, the ladies still referred to themselves as Mrs. “Husband’s Name.”  And there’s a lot of assumed knowledge, i.e., “bake in slow oven”, whatever that is; “until done”, whenever that is; “butter the dish” with no dimensions given. And I guess the First Lady was on call to contribute a recipe to the nation’s church cookbooks.

20140128_104408

Here’s a surprise and a big change from today’s cookbooks: not even two full pages of “appetizers.” The age of jalapeno poppers and artichoke dip is not yet upon us. But, never fear, Shrimp Cocktail is alive and well.

20140128_101125

We make up for our shortage of appetizers with ten pages of “Pickles.” In addition to cucumber, we have pickled watermelon rind, peaches, green beans, and even, surprisingly, a chutney. Mrs. M. J. Moore used cinnamon and cloves and recommended using with meat.  No hot peppers and mango but, still, a little ahead of her time, she was.

20140131_080517

We have lots and lots of recipes for cookies, pies, and cakes. Other than ingredients such as “Spry” and lard, those old diehard recipes stand the test of time. Where you can really tell how far we’ve come culinarily is when we get to the “Salads” and “Main Dishes.” Not sure whether to laugh or cry at some of these recipes.  Our ladies from the fifties cooked with an abundance of canned vegetables and a dearth of fresh ones. If it isn’t canned or frozen, it’s not here. I’m picturing pretty lean pickin’s in the produce department compared to what we have today.

OK, salads. To be fair, a few call for lettuce. But most are concoctions of some sort using jello with various fruits or vegetables added. This one is so weird, I may just have to try it.  Melted cinnamon hots with apples, celery, and jello? Awesome.

IMG_20140130_190512

Inexplicably there are no fewer than ten recipes for “Chow Mein.” It must have been the hot new dish of the time. Common ingredient? MOLASSES. We know that interest in “foreign” dishes was growing in post-war America and this interpretation of a Chinese dish was probably among those early tries at livening up the daily humdrum menu.

IMG_20140128_140848

Fresh seafood isn’t happening here either. Although there are lots of recipes for freshwater fish (this is the Land of 10,000 Lakes after all), seafood was either battered fried shrimp or canned salmon and tuna. How lucky are we that we can trot right into the grocery store and buy just about whatever our little hearts desire?

20140128_143435

Main Dishes:

No, Mrs. Ed. Van Moer. Just no.

20140128_141644

Hey, Mrs. Del Fox. I think we could have been friends. This sounds really good. As long as it’s not going on Jello:

roquefort

Here and there are my mother’s notes. “Schnittlauch” is the German for chives:

20140128_103832

And there’s a nod to the Norwegian immigrants who settled this part of Minnesota throughout the book. Fattigmand, anyone? (The “D” seems to have dropped off these cookies over the years according to my internet searches.)

fattig

And you are a far better cook than I am if you can figure out just what to do with this Viking delicacy:

20140131_084831

Hey, even though I’m poking a bit of fun, I wouldn’t dream of getting rid of my little red vestige of the past. No, it’s going to stay right here in my kitchen bookshelf nestled up to its more contemporary counterparts. The recipes might be showing their sixty-some years and I have more than enough really excellent recipes to try without ever having to open this book again, but there’s one really good reason to keep it around. And that’s because here and there are a smattering of recipes from Grandma herself, Mrs. Henry Lennard. But you can call her Helen. She wouldn’t have minded a bit:

IMG_20140128_110253

So I gathered up my beaters and whisks and did the best I could to make sense of this recipe. You know what? It’s really pretty darn good; the kind of dessert you might like to serve the girls at lunch on the porch on a hot summer day. Here’s a snap of it along with one of the dessert forks from the silverware she gave me years before she passed away.  Thanks, Gram!

frozen

About Silver in the Barn

Life in a 1915 farmhouse in Central Virginia. Blogging about whatever happens to catch my fancy - sometimes nonsense, occasionally not.
This entry was posted in Books, Food and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Cookbook Time Capsule

  1. srudin123 says:

    I just loved this whole post. I am so very happy you are blogging Barb. I laughed out loud and Mike’s guinea pig reference. i had many a bloody finger tip from that beast.

    Like

  2. loisajay says:

    I love my Silver Palate cook books for sure! Very nice post.

    Like

  3. vannillarock says:

    Such a lovely post! I am on the verge of buying the Ottolenghi book but my shelves won’t take another cookbook so something will have to go 🙂

    Like

    • Hello! Thank you for the nice comment on this post. Oh, do make room on your shelves for “Plenty” I am completely smitten with this cookbook and have made some amazing dishes. He has that extra little something in each layer of his cooking that makes the dish memorable. I balked at paying the $35 for a cookbook and was told in no uncertain terms by a fellow “cooking” friend that i “needed” that cookbook. She was right. Do try to make room and we can then compare recipes! I am going to love your blog, I can tell. So glad to have found you!!!

      Like

      • vannillarock says:

        Oh, how kind of you! He has a wonderful restaurant in London and with your recommendation I will buy it for my guernsey kitchen. I am very weak willed when it comes to cookbooks!! Anne

        Like

      • We were just in England last September but I had never heard of Ottolenghi then otherwise we would have bee-lined it to his restaurants. On that trip, we hiked in the Scottish Highlands and one of the hikers was an amazing gentleman from Guernsey. The first person I’ve met from that part of the world and now, not the last!

        Like

      • vannillarock says:

        Haha guernsey residents get everywhere and of course we are always interesting, lol.

        Like

  4. nrhatch says:

    I see “In The Kitchen With Rosie” poking out from your pile. I want a Chef like that!

    I had some old Scottish Cookbooks that belonged to my great aunt with similar “shorthand” for most of the recipes. I passed them along to my nieces because all new cooks should have the fun of deciphering terms like “slow oven.”

    Like

  5. I’m grinning from ear-to-ear. Loved this post and the care that went into putting it together.

    I’ve been rummaging through old photos and came across a snap of me, the birthday girl. I was one in 1957. I’m in my highchair in the kitchen. In the background is the big Revere Ware frying pan on the stove, on the table is a plate of chow mein, and on the counter to the right is a box of Dainty Rice. It does strike me as anachronistic, just as you mentioned here. But clearly, it was the trend of its day.

    Like

  6. Reblogged this on The Federation of Women's Institutes of Canada and commented:
    A wonderful tribute to cookbooks, cooks, and women inspired.

    Like

I welcome your comments:

