May the Force Be With You!

Well, here we are in late March in Virginia and it’s snowing. And cold and gray with that nasty red Weather Warning crawl running along the bottom of the television screen. So I’ve decided to take matters into my own hands and foil Old Man Winter! At least a little bit.

I went out this weekend and cut some branches to force inside. You know how difficult it is to force spring branches, right? Here are the detailed instructions:

1. Cut some branches

Image

 

2. Plunge them into tepid water

Image

 

 

3. Wait

 

Image

Yes, I know there are much more detailed instructions out there but this is all I do and it works just fine.

I usually harvest quince, forsythia, and crab apple branches. The quince is a particular favorite. I love its Asian quality and how pretty the branches are in any flower arrangement.

 

Image

The crab apple branches are heavy and long. I use a very tall and narrow vase for them.

IMG_20140322_111943

They take a bit longer than the forsythia and quince but are so worth the wait:

Image

This being Virginia, it is entirely possible we’ll be cranking up the air conditioning in a week and complaining about the heat. We should be so lucky! In the meantime, enjoy a little spring from my garden to yours:

Image

 

 

Image

 

Image

About Silver in the Barn

Life in a 1915 farmhouse in Central Virginia. Blogging about whatever happens to catch my fancy - sometimes nonsense, occasionally not.
This entry was posted in Garden and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to May the Force Be With You!

  1. Dianna says:

    I’ve never forced any blooms…but seeing your detailed instructions, I might be able to handle it! Sorry about the snow….nothing yet for us today.

    Like

  2. Betsy jones says:

    Thanks for bringing the “spring” this morning!! Beautiful….

    Like

  3. srudin123 says:

    Love the old beat up blue wheelbarrow. Thank you for sharing Spring. Winter is still here in MA but Friday we may see 50 degrees……and you know that means…… the crazy New Englander will be out in shorts celebrating.

    Like

  4. Mary Ellen Yost says:

    I love this! I showed this to a gal I work with that is into gardening like you are, and she thought this was very cool. Have fun.

    Like

  5. carolwallace says:

    Even in NYC we are forcing forsythia, though Rick has to sneak out under cover of darkness to cut the branches.

    Like

  6. Sue Mayo says:

    Love seeing your garden come alive with beautiful color. The only thing in my yard that looks like Spring is right around the corner is a big old Robin Red Breast with a worm in his mouth.

    Like

  7. Beautiful idea. I will remember it’s here and I’ve marked my calendar to check back. We’re in the midst of a move right now, so no new projects of any sort…except keeping up the blog. Thank you for stopping by this morning.

    Like

  8. Diane Ahlberg says:

    I always try to have fresh flowers in the house but have never tried this- Great idea and looks like I could handle this
    Thanks!

    Like

  9. Great instructions! Have you noticed it usually isn’t that something is so difficult, it is simply finding the time and motivation to do it…. Love your choice of vase for the crabapple. And the quince! We always had them in my childhood gardens, and I’ve wanted to plant them in this one. Your photos are inspiring me to give it a try, and dare the deer to get near it! Thank you for a beautiful post, Best wishes, WG

    Like

    • Thank you, Woodland Gnome! I found your lovely comment in my SPAM! I’m so glad I found you in there. Yes, the deer…..I have found a creative, yet ugly, solution to them. Stay tuned.

      Like

      • I collect solutions to the deer problem. We returned home this morning to find 3 in the garden munching away. I’ve planted 50 red onion starts around my roses today, hoping that might make a difference once they grow. WG

        Like

    • You know, I find the quince to be such an unworthy shrub ninety percent of the year. It’s pretty non-descript for the most part and doesn’t always merit the space it takes. But every spring, I’m reminded why I keep mine. Those branches! Those blossoms!

      Like

      • It is certainly nice to have a garden large enough to keep these plants which shine for only a few weeks each year. The ones I remember as a child produced fruits, which we played with 😉 I just love the first flowers of springtime. Best wishes, WG

        Like

I welcome your comments:

