Ladies Who Lunch

Friend Silver

The “Belles” and I meet quarterly for lunch always at the same restaurant. Why? It’s comfortable, reliable, and tried-and-true, much like our friendship. There are four of us and sometimes number five comes when her work schedule allows.

What do they have in common? They are all born-and-bred Virginia girls who have welcomed this New Englander into the fold. What do we have in common? We worked together for many years at one of the top developers in Richmond all in different capacities. And after our lives led most of us away from that particular company, we still cling to our friendship – nurturing it at these lunches.

We sit around the table and give updates on our families and life in general. Sometimes our lunches coincide with a birthday and we used to bring gifts, but now we don’t even bother to do that. The gift is being together, really.

But one day something special happened. We had just finished ordering when F. announced we were now to listen up. She pulled out of her purse some index cards and gave each of us three cards. We had a card for everyone else seated around the table. We were to write their name on the card and list three things we admire about that person — three things that we were to share with each other. A little grumbling and giggling ensued and then it got quiet for a few minutes as we did as we were told.

It’s always a bit of a jolt to see yourself through somebody else’s eyes.  Aspects of your personality that you are oblivious to or take completely for granted are things others notice and (sometimes) admire. I think all four of us were sort of delighted and surprised about what the others had to say on their cards.

I still have my three cards. They make me happy. Funny how the little things in life can have enduring impact, isn’t it?

IMG_20140325_160003

Try this next time you’re with your gals, your posse, your dearest friends. You might find you hang onto your cards too.

 

About Silver in the Barn

Life in a 1915 farmhouse in Central Virginia. Blogging about whatever happens to catch my fancy - sometimes nonsense, occasionally not.
This entry was posted in Random Ruminations and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Ladies Who Lunch

  1. Dianna says:

    What a neat idea! Three of my friends and I meet often for lunch (we try for monthly). Two are former classmates, the third is a former co-worker, who’s also cousin to one of the classmates. I find myself looking forward to those lunches!

    Like

  2. srudin123 says:

    My card would say this – Your are my beloved big sister, my rock when times are tough and there have been many, my keeper of secrets, my shoulder to lean on. You are always the gal who has something funny, smart and witty to say. The conversation you have to be a part of because you know you are missing out if you are not. I am proud of you. “You have to meet my sister”. I want to share you with all my friends so they too can have a bit of you in their lives. I smile when I think of you. There are days where I just want to be in the garden with you getting dirty and its only the distance that prevents me from showing up unannounced, trowel in hand and 20 feet of garden fencing to plunge into the red earth of Virginia. You’ve always said to have good friends one must be one. You are my good friend too. Love you!

    Like

    • These were index cards, dear one, you would need a papyrus scroll to say all of this!! And, naturally, I love every word and appreciate it so much. Now let’s see what would your Three Things I Admire be:

      1. Strength and Resilience (that’s two but who’s counting?)

      2. Terrific sense of humor

      3 Great sense of style. And still with the amazing legs. Why did I not get those genes?

      Like

    • Dianna says:

      Aw…how sweet!

      Like

  3. Sue Mayo says:

    I reached in my coat pocket the other day and guess what? I pulled out 3 cards, read them. They brought a smile to my face. I love my special friends. We always find interesting things to laugh and talk about. Long friendships last forever.

    Like

  4. Hey, lovely idea. Lucky to have such friendships…

    Like

    • dorothy says:

      Love being a belle andsharing the friendship of wonderful girls who mean the world to me. Friends are the necessitiesof life. Thanks to barbara for reminding us of these special times and to Fran to showing us the way.

      Like

  5. Sounds like a great idea for the posse! Thanks for sharing, Barbara!

    Like

  6. Pingback: The Thing About Betsy | Silver in the Barn

I welcome your comments:

