Weekly Photo Challenge: Work of Art

The art within the Virginia Museum of Fine Arts is wonderful, but it’s the art without I find most compelling. Here the magnificent red glass reeds by artist Dale Chihuly:

IMG_20140509_174056

 

1398906080625

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_photo_challenge/work-of-art/

 

 

 

About Silver in the Barn

Life in a 1915 farmhouse in Central Virginia. Blogging about whatever happens to catch my fancy - sometimes nonsense, occasionally not.
This entry was posted in Challenges and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: Work of Art

  1. vannillarock says:

    His works have been at phoenix botanical gardens for a while now- absolutely wonderful!

    Like

    • I just heard about the Phoenix display a few days ago! Naturally immediately went to google it and was blown away. He did a full-scale exhibit at VMFA a few years ago and these reeds were part of it. Later, VMFA negotiated the purchase of these reeds so they now belong to us permanently. Yippee! Enjoying that nice cool Guernsey air?

      Like

    • I thank you. Something about the contrast of a staid stone building and the dramatic red reeds gets me every time I see it. So happy you liked it. And thanks so much for the follow. I will be delving into your blog soon. I’m already eager to read “Green Acres.” –Barbara

      Like

  2. Hmmm, that’s a very interesting display. I’ve no idea what to make of it

    Like

  3. Diane Ahlberg says:

    Absolutely reason enough to go to the museum
    The red just jumps out against the background
    For those that haven’t seen these reeds it is worth a visit

    Like

  4. Saw some of this last year at Cheekwood in Nashville . A sight to behold.

    Like

  5. Jo Bryant says:

    just beautiful

    Like

  6. Parnassus says:

    Hello Barbara, I love this creative display. It reminds me of the Ware glass flowers at Harvard, only on a macro scale, and with Chihuly’s unmistakable touch.
    –Jim

    Like

  7. The reeds were such a perfect addition to the VMFA!

    Like

  8. Sheryl says:

    Beautiful! I love the way the red glass reeds are placed in a natural setting at the edge of the water

    Like

  9. Dianna says:

    Wow – so beautiful!

    Like

  10. Pingback: PHOTO CHALLENGE: Work of Art | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

  11. dorannrule says:

    Wow! So dramatic and yet they seem to actually be growing there.

    Like

  12. I love these glass reeds, so beautiful!! I once can across a place with green glass grass in Jerusalem but the red is definitely way more striking!

    Like

  13. Oh, I saw Chihuly’s works at Phipps Conservatory in Pittsburgh and they were AMAZING! Awesome pix!

    Like

    • HI and thanks for visiting. The VMFA did a huge exhibit of Chihuly’s work and ultimately ended up buying the red glass reeds as a permanent exhibit, they were so popular. He really is amazing, I agree.

      Like

  14. I absolutely adore Chihuly. I went to his exhibit in Richmond last year and wrote a blogpost about it:http://beautyalongtheroad.wordpress.com/2013/02/11/holy-moly-chihuly-daily-prompt-whoa/

    Like

I welcome your comments:

