Weekly Photo Challenge: Relic

This week’s challenge is “Relic.” I don’t have any saintly bones lurking in my photo gallery, so I’ll just go with a looser interpretation of something old. And this is old – about 600 years or so assuming it is the original door handle on the ancient cathedral in Germany’s Mosel Valley.

IMG_20140616_065152

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_photo_challenge/relic/

 

About Silver in the Barn

Life in a 1915 farmhouse in Central Virginia. Blogging about whatever happens to catch my fancy - sometimes nonsense, occasionally not.
This entry was posted in Challenges. Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: Relic

  1. markbialczak says:

    Even if it was replaced once, Barbara, what, 400 years ago? Yes, relic it is, and quite striking.

    Like

  2. Dianna says:

    I think that quallifies! It’s beautiful.

    Like

  3. nrhatch says:

    That’s gorgeous. Great pic to share, Barbara.

    Like

  4. becca givens says:

    I love door knobs, handles and knockers! Many never fail to amaze me regarding details — especially the old old ones! Understand about saintly relics — I didn’t have any either!! Thanks for the visit. 😀

    Like

  5. Sheryl says:

    The door handle is amazing–and so much prettier than the boring knobs and handles that we have today.

    Like

  6. Thom Hickey says:

    Think of all the hands and all the circumstances! Regards thom

    Like

  7. The Rider says:

    Really beautiful!

    Like

  8. Sandra says:

    Beautiful – I love the way the metal has discoloured, probably from thousands of fingers!

    Like

  9. ritaroberts says:

    Yes, Barbara, I agree with every one here. I would love that door handle on my front door. Simply gorgeous ! Thanks for such a super photo of it.

    Like

  10. Sue Mayo says:

    Just think how long it took to make such a thing of beauty.

    Like

  11. dorannrule says:

    I would love to have a door handle like that. They knew how to do things in the old days – 600 years ago – didn’t they?
    What a beauty. 🙂

    Like

  12. Diane Ahlberg says:

    Most of the time old is better- because with it comes memories , some that make you smile
    A gorgeous door knob
    Thanks for sharing

    Like

  13. Madhu says:

    It is beautiful!

    Like

  14. What a gorgeous, ornate door handle. It certainly is an excellent fit for the challenge, Barbara. 😉

    Like

  15. jazzytower says:

    This is beautiful!

    Like

  16. Exquisite street art 🙂

    Like

  17. What a fantastic choice. I love the architectural details you find on really old buildings. They just don’t get that kind of care and craftsmanship any more do they?

    Like

  18. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: RELIC | The Adventures of Iñigo Boy

  19. Lovely, lovely. I discover great blogs via yours.

    How far must we drive to have lunch? I am in Lynchburg. I would love your company!

    Like

  20. Pingback: Relic as in nostalgic? | Words & Pics

  21. themofman says:

    It looks like an antique piece.

    Like

  22. Parnassus says:

    Hello Barbara, Yes, I am back in Cleveland for a while, and that is why I got behind in keeping up with favorite blogs.

    This topic is one with special appeal to me; I love finding and photographing vestiges of old relics, especially if nature can be incorporated at the same time.
    –Jim

    Like

  23. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Relic | The Bohemian Rock Star's "Untitled Project"

  24. sued51 says:

    Lovely example…

    Like

I welcome your comments:

