Weekly Photo Challenge: Dialogue: The Country Doctor

On a street corner in Parker, Colorado, sits this street sculpture, “The Country Doctor.” One imagines a bit of kindly dialogue going on here….

1409447082660

 

IMG_20140508_141548

 

IMG_20140508_141931

 

The challenge this week is to show a form of “dialogue.” To see what some of the exceptional photographers on WordPress come up with for this week’s theme, click here. I humbly admit these photos are not “challenge-worthy”, but I’m fond of this old doc and want him to have his day in the spotlight.

About Silver in the Barn

Life in a 1915 farmhouse in Central Virginia. Blogging about whatever happens to catch my fancy - sometimes nonsense, occasionally not.
This entry was posted in Challenges and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

44 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: Dialogue: The Country Doctor

  1. Phoenix Tears Healed says:

    beautiful carvings, thankyou for posting so we could see them 🙂

    Like

  2. dorannrule says:

    I love the statuary of a country doctor. Perfect for the photo challenge and so heartwarming to see a tribute to those dedicated souls. By the way, I just learned Betsy’s antique formed jewelry pieces have arrived at Virginia Born and Bred. I am going to see them Tuesday and hope to write an article about them. She says they are beautiful!

    Like

  3. nrhatch says:

    Fantastic post for the Dialogue challenge ~ I can see why you wanted to give this Dear Old Doc his day in the spotlight.

    Like

    • Thank you, Nancy, it is a fantasy to imagine a doctor today with such a leisurely and gentle manner….now they all seem to have the insurance companies nipping at their heels to move on to the next patient.

      Like

  4. A great series of photos, Barbara. Hope you two are enjoying the weekend 😉

    Like

  5. purpleviolas says:

    What a lovely sculpture. It speaks of compassionate listening which is so missing in today’s life

    Like

  6. M-R says:

    That’s a really nice piece of statuary, Barbara ! – the evocation of bygone times, when they were so much gentler …
    I’d want to give him his time in the sun, too ! GOODONYER !

    Like

  7. Parnassus says:

    Hello Barbara, In the early 20th century, it seems that almost every elderly country doctor got around to writing a book of reminiscences. I have read a few of these, and they are charming accounts of a time and way of life that have vanished.
    –Jim

    Like

  8. ritaroberts says:

    Yes Barbara !, these sculptures are reminiscent of my early days when doctors as I remember, had a more gentle approach to your problem. Not only the country but also the town doctor which is where I was brought up. He had time to talk to you in order to glean how you felt, and so diagnose a more accurate decision of what he would prescribe for a quick recovery. It seems that doctors nowadays are so rushed off their feet they have no time for bedside manner. Not their fault of course but a sign of the times because the populations has exploded. Sorry I’m getting carried away. So all this brings us back to those wonderful sculptures showing such compassion and gentleness especially for the old and the young.

    Like

    • You are not getting carried away, Rita, just expressing your opinion and I appreciate you doing exactly that here. I have just emerged from a really difficult hospital experience with my daughter (she’s fine now) and couldn’t agree more about how things have changed in medicine. Here in the states, and i imagine elsewhere, it is more due to the insurance company dictates than anything else – the rush to get them in and out, the inability to take the time to truly assess the patient, the frenzied and detached atmosphere.

      Like

  9. mithriluna says:

    This is a terrific submission for the challenge! I love the composition of each image.

    Like

  10. cynthiamc1 says:

    What medicine used to be. My sister lives in Parker. Will tell her to look out for it.

    Like

  11. Mary says:

    I remember this day well. You were enamored by this wonderful old doctor and patient and took great care to capture their essence. How fun that you can share it with all these lovely people.

    Like

  12. Sue Mayo says:

    Thank goodness we have talented artist that can capture the compassion and concern of a profession long gone.

    Like

    • I know there are lots of good, caring doctors out there. But in my experience most are playing “beat the clock” through no fault of their own. Heaven help us if our symptoms can’t be described and prescribed within fifteen minutes alloted time.

      Like

  13. I am glad you posted this…..coming to Costa Rica has brought us back to the days of the doctor who has time for you…time to get to know you…at least, in the public health service they have.

    Like

    • Thank you, Helen. Nice to know there is a personal touch remaining in the medical profession somewhere – big feature in Saturday’s WSJ about the loss of morale amongst American doctors which I intend to read soon.

      Like

  14. Pingback: Offence vs. Defence | Wired With Words

  15. Dianna says:

    I love this! We have several sculptures such as this in our little town. I think this is perfect for the dialogue challenge.

    Like

  16. Sheryl says:

    The statue is wonderful. I love the fully engaged and caring expression on the doctor’s face.

    Like

  17. He has such an expression of intent listening – a rare quality in today’s doctors.

    Like

  18. dorothy says:

    Just think of all the ailments they diagnosed, the babies they brought into this world, the decisions made on treating most illnesses and still had to make time for their own family. How did they do it? I have such respect for those days of medicine. I am so fortunate to have a family Dr. who does have the time for me and I so appreciate her. Thanks for the memories, Barbara.

    Like

  19. Barbara … I disagree. The photos are perfect for the challenge. I love the statues convey real human qualities. A caring doctor listening intently to his patient. 😉

    Like

    • I was cringing a bit at posting this – almost didn’t – because the actual photography is not so great, but now I am so happy I did because so many of you have enjoyed seeing this doctor! Thanks a bunch, Judy.

      Like

  20. Eliza Waters says:

    Definitely Challenge worthy! I think this is great!

    Like

I welcome your comments:

