My Fragile Circle


IMG_20140213_150357

“We who choose to surround ourselves with lives even more temporary than our own, live within a fragile circle, easily and often breached. Unable to accept its awful gaps, we would still live no other way.”        Irving Townsend

Berkley3

Our beloved Berkley-boy suffered a stroke yesterday and passed away peacefully. He does leave an awful gap.

December 22, 1999 – October 28, 2014

About Silver in the Barn

Life in a 1915 farmhouse in Central Virginia. Blogging about whatever happens to catch my fancy - sometimes nonsense, occasionally not.
This entry was posted in The Boys and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

46 Responses to My Fragile Circle

  1. suzicate says:

    I’m so sorry. Losing a fur baby is losing a member of the family…it hurts and leaves a terrible void. Hugs to you.

    Like

  2. Sandra says:

    Oh Barbara, I’m so dreadfully sorry. What a terrible shock for you. The parting is the price we pay for the moments of such joy and intense love given freely by both sides. Let time pass.

    Like

  3. Sending comforting thoughts your way. I am so sorry, Barbara. 😦

    Like

  4. Oh no! I’m so sorry, Barbara. How he will be missed. 😦

    Like

  5. Barbara Stevens says:

    Sympathy and love to you, Roger, Jennifer, and Berkley.

    Like

  6. joannesisco says:

    I’m heartbroken for you!! What a very sad time for you 😦
    The little fur faces in our lives are special beyond description.
    Sending you my warmest thoughts ❤

    Like

  7. Sorry for your loss. We can all empathize, but none of us can really know how you feel about your Berkeley boy. Awful gap, no doubt.

    Like

  8. Mary Ellen says:

    Again, I am so sorry. I now how you loved the boys. He was so sweet.

    Like

  9. Barbara, I have heard that we all are given so much time. A dog’s life is shorter than ours in human years, but not in dog years. When one of our dear pet friends leave, we are heartbroken. But know that it is us being selfish because we weren’t ready for then to leave, but Berkeley had a long and happy doggie life–he was ready–happy for all the years he had with you–ready to wait for you on the other side of the bridge…
    Cindy

    Like

  10. Pat S. says:

    Berkeley was such a good boy. You gave him safe haven to spend his ending days with comfort, love and companionship. We share in your sorrow and we also feel for Max who will miss his constant friend.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Jodi says:

    Oh Barbara! So sorry to hear of the loss and heartbreak you must be experiencing. As a doggie Momma, I am so sad with you. My heart is with you. Please feel the virtual hugs!!!! xoxoxox

    Like

  12. dorannrule says:

    I am so sad and shocked to hear about your Berkley-boy. Of all the sweet souls I know, you are surely one who does not need this awful loss and pain. I am crying right along with you and remembering how I simply howled in the car by myself over the loss of a golden retriever named Peaches. There is a hole in your life now waiting to be refilled but you will never forget Berkley.

    Like

  13. Sue Mayo says:

    Barb, I am so sorry to hear this news. He was such a good boy. Big hugs!

    Like

  14. dorothy says:

    Loved him and will miss the joy and the smiles he brought to all of us. Our hearts areheavy. Take care.

    Like

  15. Dianna says:

    Oh, Barb, I am so very sorry……sad, sad news. Just remember that he knew how much you loved him and lived a happy life with you. That quote is amazing.
    Thinking of you today, my friend, and sending you a virtual hug.

    Like

  16. fodrambler says:

    That is very sad news. I wish you the best of dreams. That is where I see my animals and it still brings me joy to spend time with them again.I wake up happy, knowing that they will always be with me and looking forward to the next time. You will see Berkley again and it will be good.

    Like

  17. nrhatch says:

    I’m so sorry, Barbara. I’m sitting here with tears rolling down my cheeks. Life is fragile and our beloved pets don’t live long enough to suit us. Glad that Berkeley’s passing was peaceful.

    Like

  18. Parnassus says:

    Hello Barbara, My condolences over this sad loss. Berkeley was such a youthful looking dog that his real age never struck me, and his passing therefore comes as quite a shock. At least he knew the extent of your love and care for him and his kind, which as you more than most are sadly aware, is something that cannot be said for every dog. In every photo on your blog, ‘the boys’ always seemed so happy, playful and content.
    –Jim

    Like

  19. I am so sorry…you must be distraught at losing him and though you know you gave him a good and happy life it’s no consolation for his loss. We’re all guilty of giving our hearts for a dog to tear…

    Like

  20. I am so, so sorry Barb. Even when it’s expected, losing a beloved pet is never, ever, easy. When it’s unexpected, it’s so much worse. I will be thinking about you today and hoping that you find comfort.

    Like

  21. KerryCan says:

    Oh, no. No, no, no. I’ve come, very quickly, to look forward to your posts but I didn’t want to click on this one because I knew what it was going to say. And there’s nothing I can say that can help but, still, I’ll say it–I’m so sorry.

    Like

  22. Diane Ahlberg says:

    An extra hug for Max who will feel this loss also- No words will help you now this I know, only memories too many to count. Your heart has a huge empty part in it today . I hope the knowledge that we are all thinking of you helps a bit. Wally and I will miss him greeting us
    And sneak feeding him bits of your wonderful dinners and much rubbing and scratching 💔

    Like

  23. Oh!!! Oh my!!! What a horrible thing!

    I don’t know what to say. I never do.

    We’re thinking of you. All of you.

    Like

  24. John says:

    I am so sorry for your loss. Be strong.

    Like

  25. Droelma says:

    Oh, what sad news ! Having lost two of my three dogs and both of my cats over the last 15 month, I know how this kind of loss feels. I wish I had comforting words to say. Thinking of you and your loved ones and of course Berkeley…

    Like

  26. Oh dear. A difficult time.

    Like

  27. Betsy Jones says:

    So sorry Barbara,my thoughts are with you, Roger and Jen. You gave him soooo much love and a wonderful life. Xxxxxxxx

    Like

  28. What a lovely and perfect quote. There is nothing else to be said. My heart hurts for you, I know from experience that eventually time will heal and wonderful memories will replace the pain, It was such a privilege to know Berk and I am selfishly thankful for those extra moments and rubs during our last camping trip. Heart hugs for you and Roger. Let yourself grieve. I love you.

    Like

  29. bkpyett says:

    This brought tears to my eyes…. what an important part of your family will be missing. The quote is wonderful. Thank you for sharing this difficult time and we send lots of love to you all! ❤

    Like

  30. I’m so sorry for your loss, Barbara. I know from reading your posts that your dogs, like our dogs and cats, were always family. Hugs. ❤

    Like

  31. M-R says:

    Oh, Barbara … It makes me weep to know the misery and pain you’re going through, with nothing anyone can do to make it less.
    No person – only time.
    I wonder how much of it you’ve spent this way already …? Like me, I think – a lot.
    Because, of course, this lovely quote is so entirely apposite: we can only do our best right now to remind you of the utter joy, and hope time allows you to focus on it, somehow …
    With love.

    Like

  32. Dear Berkley, Rest in peace. You brought such joy to your owners. And you were so darn cute. Dear Barbara, How hard it is to lose a pet. Usually it is a very lonely mourning process, but you have such loyal followers who will hold Berkley in their hearts along with you. My deepest condolences during this painful time.
    Love, Alison

    Like

  33. Barbara Stevens says:

    Forgive me, I meant Max.

    Like

  34. He was almost 15 yrs old – what a great dog life! I love the quote by Townsend, the fragility of life, its ever-changing nature….from the pics, he looks like he had a lot of character and spunkiness…

    Like

  35. kristieinbc says:

    Oh no…I am so very sorry you have lost your sweet little Westie. Hugs to you…

    Like

  36. Eliza Waters says:

    Oh, Barbara, how sad you must be. They leave such a hole in your heart and after 15 years that is a long time. I just lost my Ruby last week and haven’t been able to post about it yet – I’m still too heartbroken. So we mourn in tandem. Blessings.

    Like

  37. reocochran says:

    Barb, words cannot express adequately how a pet is part of a home, a life and family. I am overwhelmed with grief, since I had come to love that boy, Berkley! He was indeed part of your family circle and his 15 years of ‘service’ guarding, loving, chasing deer and critters, along with being a little rascal, at times, all wonderful ways he will always be remembered. Your tribute to Berkley and his life was simply beautiful. I am bereft, I did not read your posts since I arrived on October 24th, for my ‘vacation to Mom’s’…. Sending hugs and hopes for you to have images of his cavorting and carrying on, up in Heaven.

    Like

  38. Joanne Butler says:

    Dearest Barbara,
    I was deeply saddened to hear of Berkley’s passing. My heart goes out to you, Roger, Jennifer and Max at this very difficult time. Losing a pet is almost traumatic, for it shows us how short life can be. You know that all of your family members provided Berkley with a a loving, caring home for 15 years. There is a special relationship between a pet and its owner, it is called unconditional love. It is ironic that the one member of your family who would be most comforting is the one you have lost. Try to imagine Berkley sporting a beautiful set of angel wings! And then look closely to see two small devilish red horns sprouting from the top of his head!!!! That is your dear boy now, running with the fur angels wearing a devilish grin on his face! I can only hope this brings a smile………
    Love,
    Joanne

    Like

  39. Dear Barbara, so very sad to hear of Berkley’s passing. It has been a tough passage for you, lately, and you’re in my heart and on my mind. He was such a handsome fellow, and totally in love with you and Roger. You gave him the best life a little Westie can hope for, much happiness, kindness, affection, a warm and safe home. I hope the joy of your time with him can out shine the grief of his passing. Please take good care of yourself, love and hugs, Elizabeth

    Like

  40. Jane says:

    Oh, Barbara. I am sorry for your sad loss. I know how broken hearted you must feel. My thoughts and prayers are with you. Peace, Jane

    Like

  41. Barbara –
    My friend (Queen of Trashy Treasure) were out the other day and spoke, in length, of our sadness and surprise at the loss of your sweet Berkley. I know it is still hard to talk about right now, but thank you so much for sharing this.
    Every picture of your rolling green lawn is empty without both dogs tearing around in the background. If I look for him in pictures, I can only imagine your great sense of loss.
    I’m glad your garden is giving you it’s last great hurrah at this point in time. Your gardens, as always, are a delight.
    Thank you for sharing him with us. Farewell sweet Berkley!!
    Donna-Faded Velvet

    Like

  42. Thom Hickey says:

    Very sorry to learn this news. Love and loss go together. Thom.

    Like

  43. cat9984 says:

    I’m so sorry. They are such members of the family that it really hurts to lose them.

    Like

  44. loisajay says:

    Barbara, I am so very sorry. I’m just reading this now. whew. The loss of a pet is like no other. Love to you.

    Liked by 1 person

  45. Barbara, just read this post and feel so sad for you. Our pets are part of our family. Even though we know they are here for a limited time, it’s so hard to take when their time is up. Comforting thoughts for you!

    Liked by 1 person

  46. Ellen Hawley says:

    Losing our animals hits us hard. I’m late in commenting, and I hope the pain’s receding a bit, but I send good thoughts.

    Like

I welcome your comments:

