Thank You

No metaphysician ever felt the deficiency of language so much as the grateful.           Caleb C. Colton

IMG_20141015_154509

The Pink Sheffield Chrysanthemum

Many thanks to each and every one of you who has reached out to me since Berkley’s death. Please know that every word you have written me has been read and re-read and surely will continue to be for some time yet to come.

IMG_20141014_080714

The Mexican Bush Sage

 

Sadly, I don’t have the words to adequately express how thankful I am for your friendship and support during these painful days.

1946bd80e02e9b761865c9ad1c281fb8

October Skies Aster

So I’ll say it with flowers as the old ad campaign used to urge us.

IMG_20141031_065125

Nature’s perfect timing

 

The garden is slowly coming to rest, but there is one last flush of beauty.

IMG_20141030_192424

“Will’s Wonderful” Chrysanthemum and an unidentified something.

The garden knows that the end is drawing near, and there is a defiant beauty to the botanical last hurrah of the chrysanthemums and asters.

IMG_20141028_091104

Dear Berkley was born on my birthday. He died on my daughter’s. Why I find this so comforting and oddly significant is hard for me to say, but I do.

IMG_20141015_154002

Another great comfort to me is how many of you grew to know and feel fond of my dear old Berkley-boy.

Again, dear friends, my inexpressible thanks to each and every one of you. You have helped me immeasurably.

About Silver in the Barn

Life in a 1915 farmhouse in Central Virginia. Blogging about whatever happens to catch my fancy - sometimes nonsense, occasionally not.
This entry was posted in Garden, The Boys and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

55 Responses to Thank You

  1. Roger Scott says:

    Damn it woman, you’re making me cry again….

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Dianna says:

    Beautiful photos. The blogging world is an amazing place; I’m so glad to be a part of it, and glad to have discovered your blog.
    As you know, time does help lessen our grief, but it takes awhile, especially when something happens as suddenly as it did to your sweet Berkley.
    Take care…

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m so sorry, I missed your post about Berkley 😦

    And what can I say that hasnt been said before. All of us who have experienced the unconditional love of a companion animal and then had to live with their death, know how you feel and share your sorrow.

    It never gets any easier, all we can do is hope that we gave them a loving home and a happy life, although truth is, we probably get far more out of the deal. Apart from the end of course.

    And I like the michaelmas daisies.

    Like

    • It’s the “sharing your sorrow” part that has made this process so much less painful. Thank you so much, Kate.

      Like

      • I used to edit a dog blog site, updating it for news, which obviously included Rainbow Bridge stories. I swear I cried every single time I wrote a mini-obituary, even moreso if it was a dogblog that I’d visited and commented on over the years. It’s easier to do people obits!

        Since I started blogging more than seven years ago, I’ve not yet, touch wood, had to go through that, although Pippa came close with tick disease some four years or so ago. So I can’t speak from experience.

        I can say that people were incredibly kind when I broke my ankle and continue to ask about my (very slow lack of) progress.

        There is a wealth of good feeling and generosity of heart in the blogging community, with much empathy.

        A couple of weeks ago a very good internet friend’s dog had a terrible seizure and took her into the emergency vet at midnight, and she was put to sleep. (Shortened version). I wish I could do something more to help. I know I can’t, all I have are words, but maybe if someone knows I’ve been there too, they hold some comfort, not much, but a little.

        And, in the midst of all this, it is so thoughtful of you to take the time to thank people for their comments and condolences. Time to hug your other sweetie right now.

        Like

      • Kate, you say you wish there was more you could to do for your friend. But, you know, it’s the words that have helped me so much. I felt sort of stunned at the intensity of my feelings because Berkley was my first dog to pass away. But reading how others have felt when it happened to them and how intense their pain was really has helped me. I am sure you have helped your very good internet friend more than you can possibly imagine.

        Like

  4. You have found, as I did, that the old adage “a trouble shared is a trouble halved” certainly holds true out here in the blogosphere. You’ve managed to find some beautiful words to match your equally beautiful photos. Keep finding the beauty in all the simple things. We’re here for you.

    Like

  5. Berkeley complemented those flowers.

    Like

  6. cindy knoke says:

    So very sorry. Losing a member of your animal family is painful indeed. Thoughts and sympathy~ ❤ ❤

    Like

  7. caffienna says:

    Even in pain, you continue to bless the rest of us . Peace to you.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. You’ve found the perfect way to express your thoughts and feelings. Many blessings.

    Like

  9. dorannrule says:

    Love is all there is and the memories.

    Like

  10. suzicate says:

    Beautiful! Interesting bug on the chrysanthemum.

    Like

  11. nrhatch says:

    “Dear Berkley was born on my birthday. He died on my daughter’s. Why I find this so comforting and oddly significant is hard for me to say, but I do.”

    I would feel the same, Barbara. As if Berkley was meant to be with the two of you.

    Hope Jen enjoyed her birthday. Your flowers are gorgeous ~ an example of defiant and lush botanical beauty. The last HURRAH!

    Like

  12. Sue Mayo says:

    The flowers are beautiful and so was your tribute to Berkley. Big hugs!

    Like

  13. reocochran says:

    I appreciate your sharing this post, wish I had gotten to my ‘reading’ earlier this week. So sorry about Berkley’s death, Barb! My ‘excuse’ is the shared computer here at my Mom’s senior apts and my ‘vacation mode’ attitude to blogging while here. So very sorry for your loss, I loved the photos of your dog serving as sentry over the gardens and woods, with his little cute face collecting brambles and prickers…. I remember noting this, as I read your posts. Take care and hugs, Robin

    Like

    • Thank you so much, Robin, for this very kind message. Of course we must have our time with our families and be off the blogosphere on vacation mode. And I appreciate you taking the time to relay your sympathies now. We still have our little Max (we had two Westies) and I’m sure in the future, we will continue our fostering and rescue work. Again, thank you for your kind thoughts towards Berkley and us.

      Like

  14. M-R says:

    That’s what we’re here for ! 😀
    The flowers are simply wonderful, Barbara – as are those birthdays. Nature is amazing and coincidental …

    Like

  15. How absolutely beautiful…both the flowers and the tribute. I hope Berk continues to visit you sometimes in the garden…he certainly looks as though he belongs there 🙂 So happy that Mike got a chance for a brief visit to deliver our hugs in person. You all continue to be in our thoughts.

    Like

  16. joannesisco says:

    Our fur family is such a significant part of our lives. I too think it’s significant that he came into the world, and left it, on days that are important markers in your life. I hope you will feel the warmth of your time together for a very long time ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, Joanne, so very much. I remember when he came to us and I saw in his medical records that he had the same wretched birthdate as me….who wants a birthday three days before Christmas, right?….and I thought just another reason to love him to pieces! XXX

      Liked by 1 person

  17. Jodi says:

    Oh Barbara – how you bless all of us. Busy day at work and just catching up on my blog reading. Look at all the love you have received from this post that you are so deserving of because of the love and beauty you share with all of us. Sending love to you and sharing in your sorrow with tears of sadness and tears of joy for your friendship and just tears .. xoxoxox

    Like

    • Such a beautiful autumn this year, Jodi, I don’t remember the garden being more vibrant and full of life. When Berkley comes home, I think we’ll find a spot for him there. Thank you so much for this heartfelt message and go hug Mikey for me. XXX

      Liked by 1 person

  18. dorothy says:

    Precious berkley will never be forgotten. Your lovely garden will forever bring him to mind as he peeked around every corner checking up on his beloved gardening buddy. Berkley, we will all miss you more than you know but we know that you lived with the best family ever, roger, barb and jen. We’ll miss you terribly.

    Liked by 1 person

  19. He was, no, is, part of your continuum…
    Chrysanthemums are the flower of remembrance in France..so appropriate in this season.

    Like

    • Oh, how marvelous. I had no idea about chrysanthemums being the flower of remembrance. Thank you for telling me this, Helen….somehow I think every autumn will now hold a trace of the old boy for me.

      Like

      • Every corner of your house and garden will be his memorial…the canine version of Wren;s ‘if you seek his monument, look about you.’

        Liked by 1 person

      • ChristineR says:

        Wikipedia says…
        “In some countries of Europe (e.g., France, Belgium, Italy, Spain, Poland, Hungary, Croatia), incurve chrysanthemums are symbolic of death and are used only for funerals or on graves, while other types carry no such symbolism; similarly, in China, Japan and Korea, white chrysanthemums are symbolic of lamentation and/or grief. In some other countries, they represent honesty. In the United States, the flower is usually regarded as positive and cheerful, with New Orleans as a notable exception. …”

        Barbara, I’m sorry to read of Berkley’s death. In Australia, chrysanthemums are a symbol of Mothers day which falls in May when they are flowering here. I’m pretty sure Berkley would have thought of you as his mum. I think it lovely that you get to automatically think of his birth and death on your special birthdays. ❤

        Like

      • Christine, I can tell I am going to so enjoy getting to know you. What a lovely comment. Thank you so much for sharing the history of chrysanthemums with me. I had no idea until I posted this that they were symbolic of death in other cultures. Thank you for reading and following my blog. I am so pleased.

        Like

  20. Diane Ahlberg says:

    Wonderful, heartfelt tribute to Berkley
    He will be with you always – watching over you as you go about your daily routine just as always xo

    Like

  21. bkpyett says:

    I adore your garden. Thank you for those magnificent flowers, all a joy!! I loved it that Berkley celebrated/ commemorated yours and Jen’s birthdays. So here is a quote for you: ‘Our birthdays are feathers in the broad wing of time.’ Jean Paul ❤

    Like

  22. Lovely flowers in your garden, Barbara. And such a beautiful tribute to life 😉 Hugs, WG

    Like

  23. Eliza Waters says:

    Beautiful flowers and a perfect tribute to your ‘boy.’ Of course it is no accident that he came in and out on significant dates for you. That is the power of Love at work. Hugs 🙂

    Like

  24. Sheryl says:

    What a lovely tribute to Berkey! Dogs can be so special. My thoughts are with you during this difficult time.

    Like

  25. Berkley was family. I can tell. This is never easy. Barbara, you are in my thoughts and prayers.

    Like

I welcome your comments:

