Westward Ho!

They say there’s nothing quite like travel to expand one’s horizons.  So what did I learn from our recent trip to Arizona? You just never know what’s going to cross your path when you head out of town.

I learned bobcats belong to the genus “Lynx Rufus” after heated debate about just what it was so confidently perched on our wall one evening.

20150324_183643-1-1

Looks like your average house cat in this photo, doesn’t it? Trust me, it was not. We think he was lured in by the fountain and who could blame him?

I learned springtime doesn’t mean dogwood blooms and azaleas to everyone:

20150325_075104

I learned there’s such a thing as weekend Hell’s Angels:

20150326_160201

It’s been a long time since my last ride on a Harley, how about you?

I learned to appreciate the splendid aesthetic of Southwest decor particularly the kiva fireplace:

I learned to appreciate the power of one:

20150327_154333

I learned they know how to rock a sandwich in Arizona. Green chile cornbread BLT anyone?

20150328_125841

Or how about a Vietnamese Banh Mi sandwich with sriracha aioli and sesame green bean salad?

20150328_125359

I learned not to torture myself by venturing into outstanding Farmers’ Markets the day before flying home.

20150328_113814

I learned that a step is a step according to my Fitbit. No credit given for vertical ascents. I think this is a serious defect in the device, don’t you?

20150327_152425

I learned the most divine cocktails can be invented when cleaning out the fridge. What to do with those raspberries? Well, little sister is quite the maestro with a blender. How about this for a beautiful margarita?

20150325_165123

But what to call our newly invented drink? The Bobcat, of course!

And I already knew there’s no place like home, but Max reinforced it while smothering me in abundant Westie kisses this morning.

IMG_20150330_085355_resized

And thanks for reading!

Barbara

About Silver in the Barn

Life in a 1915 farmhouse in Central Virginia. Blogging about whatever happens to catch my fancy - sometimes nonsense, occasionally not.
This entry was posted in Food, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

157 Responses to Westward Ho!

  1. cat9984 says:

    Beautiful pictures. It looks like a wonderful trip. The bobcat does look like a sweet kitty, but I hope he got his swim while you were all asleep. 🙂

    Like

I welcome your comments:

